Trip to the Grocery Store

Standard

For years my mom was a daycare provider.  I loved the babies that she took care of.  Their very cuteness is what inspired me to want lots and lots of kids.  When MB(monster boy) was born, he was the PERFECT baby.  Well that is what I remember anyway (I know every parent thinks his/her child is perfect, but MB really was!).  He actually didn’t grow horns and the third eye ball until he turned three when MG(monster girl) was born.  MG’s horns on the other hand developed much earlier, probably around the time she began to walk and talk.  I think its a ploy… the cuter the kids, the more devilish they are.  Two strikes against me… my little ones have big blue eyes that make your heart melt.  It’s hard to be mad at them when they are so darn cute!  But… believe me that cuteness can only carry you so far.  I had this great idea today to go to the grocery store.  It was one of those days when you need absolutely EVERYTHING.  I woke up early, took my shower, had my coupons ready and then went to battle getting the kids ready.  I swear I asked MB at least 50,000 times to get dressed.  He always has something he is doing.  First he was watching cartoons, he had to gather 10 cars to go with him, he had to color Nae (my mom) a picture real quick.  Are you flipping kidding me?  Kid, I should not have to repeat myself (I love those parents who only have to ask once and there kid just does what they say… really???).  Get your clothes on for goodness sakes!!!!  An hour and a half later we were in the car, with 8 cars, 5 of MG’s snuggies (little blankets she carries everywhere, her bunny, a cup of milk, and a cup of juice.  Crud.. where are my coupons and my grocery list, for that matter where is my purse??  Back inside I go.  We finally make it to the grocery store, and make it almost through the entire store, but I see the wine isle and really have been craving just a little mommy juice.  Up and down the isle I go, as both of my children’s arms are flailing and they are trying to touch every bottle they see.  I can’t even concentrate to see what kind of wine I might want.  Forget it!  Here I am trying to push this basket that is filled to the brim, while entertaining two hungry kids.  MG thinks she needs to have a taste of everything that goes into the basket.  We had already opened a container of cookies, goldfish, and two lunchables.  If she had it her way, I would have broke open the OJ and poured that into her sippy cup.  I had one more stop…. Produce.  MB decides he is going to get out of the basket to “help”.  No son, touching, smelling, and tasting every produce item you see does not equate to helping.  But thanks anyway.  Needless to say, I finally made it home.

About jjohnson527

Hi Ya'll! I am a South Texas girl that loves evenings on the porch, sweet tea, sunday dinners. I have a precious little boy who starts Kindergarten this year and a little princess who is 2. I have recently quit my job and have been focusing on my family more. I have become interested in cooking, baking, and saving money!

Leave a Reply

